LeAnn Rimes has teamed up with some of music's biggest names for her upcoming album. god's work, due out on Sept. 16, will feature 12 new tracks and multiple cross-genre collaborations.

Mickey Guyton supplies guest vocals on two tracks, "the wild," which also features acclaimed percussionist and singer Sheila E., along with the record's title track. Rimes wrote and co-produced god's work alongside her friend and longtime creative collaborator Darrell Brown. She intentionally recruited a team of talented women to help mix, master and record the project, which took three years to complete.

"For me, god’s work was all about a journey of reclamation, where humanity meets spirit," Rimes said in a statement. "The idea was to really dig into the duality of life, and I needed to be at the place I am in my life now in order to release this record whole-heartedly. It’s so empowering that I am finally there."

Leann Rimes God's Work Album Art
EverLe Records

The announcement comes ahead of the broadcast premiere of CMT Crossroads: LeAnn Rimes & Friends. The episode, which will air April 14 on CMT, includes appearances from Guyton, Ashley McBryde and Brandy Clark. Rimes also surprised fans in attendance at Tanya Tucker's April 10 performance at the Ryman, where she joined the country legend to perform Tucker's 1987 hit "Love Me Like You Used To."

LeAnn Rimes, god’s work Track Listing:

1. "spaceship"
2. "the only" (Ft. Ziggy Marley, Ledisi, and Ben Harper)
3. "awakening"
4. "how much a heart can hold"
5. "throw my arms around the world"
6. "the wild" (Ft. Sheila E. and Mickey Guyton)
7. "innocent"
8. "god’s work" (Ft. Robert Randolph, Mickey Guyton, and Tata Vega)
9. "something better’s coming"
10. "imagined with love"
11. "there will be a better day"
12. "i do" (Duet by Aloe Blacc and LeAnn Rimes)

See 50 Essential '90s Country Songs

If you call yourself a real fan of '90s country music, you probably need to know the words to all of these hit songs.

More From