The Maine Health Access Foundation has selected eleven Maine communities from Aroostook to Franklin Counties to implement projects in the foundation’s “Healthy Community” initiative. MeHAF is awarding $2,059,833 for the eleven three-year projects. The grants average a little over $187,000 each.

Maine Health Allies (Facebook)

Communities plan to use the MeHAF grants to address health issues that include substance use disorder and behavioral health, obesity and nutrition, safe neighborhoods, and aging.

Healthy Community Implementation Grants:

Aroostook Band of Micmacs, Netukulimk Community Health and Wellness, $187,500
Project Director:  Dena Winslow, 207-764-1972, dwinslow@micmac-nsn.gov

Aroostook County Action Program, Inc., Healthy Houlton, $187,500
Project Director: Susan Deschene, 207-554-4131, sdeschene@acap-me.org

City of Bangor, Health & Community Services, Greater Bangor/Brewer Healthy Communities through Recovery Coaching and Collaboration, $187,500
Project Director: Jamie Comstock, 207-992-4466, jamie.comstock@bangormaine.gov

Healthy Community Coalition of Greater Franklin County, Health Opportunities through Poverty Elimination (HOPE), $187,500
Project Director: Tracy Harty, 207-779-2830, tharty@fchn.org

MaineGeneral Health, Healthy Northern Kennebec, Healthy Waterville: Increasing Community Connections and Access to Healthy Food for All, $187,500
Project Director: Fran Mullin, 207-872-4127, Frances.Mullin@MaineGeneral.org 

Penobscot Bay YMCA, Knox County Community Health Coalition, Voices of Knox County…Working Together for a Healthy Community; $187,500
Project Director: Connie Putnam, 207-236-6313 ext. 1, c-putnam@myfairpoint.net 

Piscataquis Regional YMCA, Feel Good Piscataquis! Healthy Food for All, $185.334
Project Director: Erin Calloway, 207-343-0171, e.callaway@prymca.org

Redington-Fairview General Hospital, Greater Somerset Public Health Collaborative, Achieving Better Health in Jackman, Maine: The Aging Project, $187,499
Project Director: Matt L’Italien, 207-858-8451, mlitalien@rfgh.net 

The Opportunity Alliance, Communities Promoting Health Coalition, Healthy Youth-Healthy Lake Region, $187,500
Project Director: Jana Richards, 207-553-5809, jana.richards@opportunityalliance.org

Western Maine Community Action, Healthy Neighborhoods Lewiston/Auburn, $187,500
Project Director: Shanna Cox, 207-615-2025, shanna@gotippingpoint.com 

Western Maine Health Care Corporation, Oxford County Wellness Collaborative, Infusing Social Capital Development to Increase Effectiveness of Community Interventions, $187,500
Project Director: Jim Douglas, 207-890-5569, jim@healthyoxfordhills.org

MeHAF Media Contact
Charles Dwyer, Program Officer, 207.620.8266 x103, cdwyer@mehaf.org