Denver coach Jim Montgomery and Providence coach Nate Leaman are among the finalists for college hockey's Spencer Penrose Award - the Division I Coach of the Year.

Both have connections to UMaine hockey. Montgomery captained the 1992-93 Black Bears national championship team. He is the all-time leader in points at UM with 301. He has his Pioneers in the Frozen Four in his third season behind the bench at UDenver.

Nate Leaman started coaching as an assistant coach at Old Town HS. He was a grad assistant at UMaine for the 1998-99 championship season. Leaman led his Friars to the national title a year ago.

Other finalists for the Penrose Award include BC's Jerry York and Rand Pecknold from Quinnipiac.

The winner will be announced next Wednesday, April 6th as part of the Frozen Four festivities in Tampa Bay.

2015-2016 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(STX/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

>Red Berenson, Michigan, Big Ten Coach of the Year*
>Brad Berry, North Dakota, NCHC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
>Nate Leaman, Providence, Hockey East Coach of the Year*
>Jim Montgomery, Denver, NCAA Semi-Finalist
>Mel Pearson, Michigan Tech, WCHA Coach of the Year
>Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac, ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
>Frank Serratore, Air Force, Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year
>Jerry York, Boston College, NCAA Semi-Finalist*

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner