The New Brunswick government and the Quebec government have signed a declaration to emphasize their commitment to the French language and their desire to continue advancing French in Canada. 

Economic Development and La Francophonie Minister Francine Landry says the declaration recognizes the key role played by Acadians, Quebecois and francophone communities across the country in founding and building Canada.

Landy says the two provincial governments agree to promote the French language as part of the Canadian identity, to take concrete action to maintain the demographic weight of Francophones across the country (including through Francophone immigration), to encourage the active offer of services in French, and to increase intergovernmental co-operation.

Government of New Brunswick

Quebec Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie Jean-Marc Fournier says the signing gives a commitment to  implementation of concrete steps for the future of French in Canada.

This is the fourth co-operative declaration signed in Canada. Quebec has forged similar agreements with Ontario, Manitoba, and Yukon.